About Cardiff Law Society

Cardiff University Law Society is the centre of the Law School’s social activities and has a staunch following amongst Law students at the University. It currently enjoys a membership of over 300 students, making it the largest society at Cardiff University.

The Society aims to enhance the social, educational and extra-curricular opportunities for its student members. It organises many socials throughout the year on a regular basis; these include the annual Law Ball held in City Hall, the annual Law Society Trip, regular socials and many more events throughout the year.

We appreciate the difficulties of doing a law degree and the socialising that is necessary to ensure we play as hard as we work. Aside from our social focus however, we also know that University is the springboard for potential careers and the importance of improving your legal experience and help your CV flourish. You can get involved with Pro Bono (free legal advice), Innocence (helping current people imprisoned present their case of innocence) and Mooting (advocacy competitions) as well as attend talks from very prestigious names in the legal world, networking events to improve your contacts for the future and the chance to visit places such as the Inns of Court and Strasbourg to see for yourself what life is really like taking a certain career path.

There is also a multitude of other 'CV gold dust' opportunities to get involved with the Law Society, all of which look great to a prospective employer. These include, but are by no means limited to, the following: writing an article for our 'Unprecedented' magazine; submitting legal articles to our academic journal; helping to publish our new weekly newsletter; taking part in our Public Speaking Series; becoming a member of one of our important sub-committees.

Presidents of Cardiff University Law Society

2005 - 2006:   Joe Al-Khayat

2006 - 2007:   Nicholas McDonald

2007 - 2008:   Elissa Bowell

2008 - 2009:   Abdullah Kahloon

2009 - 2010:   Nicholas Wolfe

2010 - 2011:   Marcus Coates-Walker

2011 - 2012:   James Rimmer

2012 - 2013:   Isaac Paine

2013 - 2014:   Enfys Jenkins

2014 - 2015:   Joseph Perrins

2015 - 2016:   Chelsea Mitchell

2016 - 2017:   Alexander Love

2017 - 2018:   Emilie Archer

2018 - 2019:   Isabel Rawlings

* Please note that the above list of past and present Presidents is incomplete.