Log in

Corporate Structure

The Union’s activities are managed within a group of three companies, Cardiff University Students’ Union (CUSU), Cardiff Union Services Limited (CUSL) and Cardiff Volunteering (CV). Each of these companies is a separate legal entity with its own Board of Directors; but CUSL and CV are wholly-owned subsidiary companies of CUSU.

To help with decision making the Students' Union Board of Trustees has six Sub-Committees which have delegated authority for specific areas of organisational activity. The below graphic illustrates the Union's corporate structure, and the second graphic illustrates the Union's governance structure - the Board of Trustees and its Sub-Committees. 

Cardiff University Students' Union (CUSU), Board of Trustees

The Board comprises the following people: Hannah Doe, (Students' Union President and Chair of the Board), Gina Dunn (Vice President Education), Orla Tarn (Vice President Postgraduate), Sebastian Ripley (Vice President Heath Park Campus), Megan Somerville (Vice President Sports and AU President), Chris Grieve (Vice President Societies and Volunteering), Charlotte Towlson (Vice President Welfare and Campaigns), Stephen Oldfield (Student Trustee), Matthew Bird (Student Trustee), Tariq Awan (Student Trustee), Jayne Sadgrove (University Nominated Trustee), Ray Singh (University Nominated Trustee), Richard Roberts (External Trustee) and Natasha Applasamy (External Trustee). There is one External Trustee vacancy.

Trustees are elected (or selected) via the criteria established within the Union’s Articles of Association, to ensure both student leadership and the recruitment of professional expertise. The Trustees are ultimately responsible, individually and collectively, for the Students' Union's activities. The Board has ultimate responsibility for directing the affairs of an organisation, ensuring that it is well-run and delivers its charitable objectives. 

The six Committees of the Board of Trustees are Finance and Audit; Human Resources; Chief Executive's Appraisal Group; Health, Environment, Maintenance and Safety; Satisfaction, Engagement and Participation, and the Appointments and Remuneration Committee – all of which report to the Board of Trustees.

To enable effective decision-making at these meetings, the membership and / or attendance can include external professionals and Union staff, as well as Trustees. This can include individuals who have significant experience in that field of work so can offer different perspectives and support the Students' Union with the challenges that it faces. Further detail with respect to the Committees of the Board of Trustees can be viewed within the Union's governing documents - the Memorandum & Articles of Association and Bye-Laws.

Cardiff Union Services Limited (CUSL), Board of Directors

CUSL is a wholly-owned subsidiary company of the Union. CUSL exists to promote the social and educational welfare of the students of Cardiff University by providing services and facilities to its students. Any profits made by CUSL are gifted to CUSU in pursuit of the Union’s charitable objectives.

CUSL has an independent Board of Directors that oversee the work of the company, ensure that it is meeting its objectives and are ultimately responsible for it. Hannah Doe, Students’ Union President, is the Chair of CUSL Board and Daniel Palmer (CEO) is the Managing Director.

Cardiff Volunteering (CV), Board of Trustees

Cardiff Volunteering (CV) is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Union and is a company in its own right. CV exists for the advancement of education of students at Cardiff University for the public benefit: by creating and supporting volunteer opportunities, working with other charities and community organisations and promoting student and life-long community service among Cardiff University students.

CV has an independent Board of Trustees that oversees its work, ensure it is meeting its objectives and are ultimately responsible for the management and administration of the Charity. The Board comprises Sabbatical Officer Trustees, Student Trustees, External Trustees and nominees from the University and Students’ Union.